Summer Break Is Here

My first draft is done! I can’t say it is finished. It certainly doesn’t feel finished. Forcing myself to push through the last two weeks was both good and hard. I definitely didn’t do as much as I had hoped. The draft is also not as long as I had hoped it would be, but it does feel like the right place to take a break.  The draft is printed and clipped together. I put it in a folder and don’t intend to look at it again until the end of the summer. I’m going to spend this time working on short stories, doing some research, reading and building up the blog. The summer is going to bring about big changes in my daily routine and will require some trial and error, but I welcome the new season.

How do you know when a first draft is done?

2 thoughts on “Summer Break Is Here

  1. Congrats! You know the first draft is done (enough) when you can go without looking at it for at least a couple of months:) Good luck. The shocking thing for me was dealing with how bad my first draft was. EEK! I hated it so much, I didn’t know if I could go back to it. That wore off, though. The fun part is going back and cutting and clipping and tweaking.

Leave a Reply

